St. Nersess to Honor First 12

St. Nersess to Honor First 12

St. Nersess Armenian Seminary will be celebrating its 60th Anniversary on November 13 at a special banquet which will honor the vocations of the first 12 priests who graduated from St. Nersess and St. Vladimir’s Seminaries and were ordained.

The celebratory dinner will take place on November 13 at the Old Tappan Manor in Old Tappan, N.J. This event is the first in a series to recognize the alumni of St. Nersess, both ordained and lay, who are in service to the Armenian Church, in any capacity.

This year’s honorees, listed by ordination dates, are Rev. Fr. Kevork Arakelian (1973); Rev. Fr. Garabed Kochakian (1976); Rev. Fr. Yeprem Kelegian (1977); Rev. Fr. Mardiros Chevian (1985); Rev. Fr. Shnork Demirjian (1991); Rev. Fr. Diran Bohajian (1993); Rev. Fr. Sahak Kaishian (1993); Rev. Fr. Tavit Boyajian (1993); Rev. Fr. Arakel Aljalian (1993); Rev. Fr. Vasken Kouzouian (1994); Rev. Fr. Stepanos Doudoukjian (1996); Very Rev. Fr. Simeon Odabashian (1996). Two honorees are from the Western Diocese.

The tribute has ignited numerous memories amongst the honorees. “When reflecting upon the first time I knew I wanted to become a priest, I recall how impactful the first St. Nersess Summer Conference was in 1963,” reveals Fr. Kevork Arakelian, the first American-born graduate of St. Nersess Armenian Seminary to be ordained a priest. Another recollection, by Fr. Yeprem Kelegian, includes the greatest influences on his path to the seminary. “I remember the ‘luminaries’ of my youth – Archbishop Torkom Manoogian, Archbishop Tiran Nersoyan, Der Arsen Barsamian, Der Dajad Davidian, and Der Karekin Kasparian.”

The evening will be filled with more nostalgic and celebratory reflections, as well as a special award. Click to view the commemorative keepsake booklet information and donation card to include your best wishes to the honorees and the invitation and RSVP. All donations will benefit the seminary and its ongoing mission.

For more information, please contact event co-chair Lynn Beylerian at (201) 914-0354 or or go to